Moving Home Minnesota (MHM) is a federal demonstration project. The goal of MHM is to create opportunities for Minnesotans to move from institutions to their own home in the community. MHM promotes the development and implementation of transition plans that reflect the preferences of those receiving services and the opportunity to receive services in the most integrated setting.
Lead agencies (counties, tribes or health plans) will assign a transition coordinator to each person receiving MHM services. The transition coordinator will help create a plan to transition the person back to the community.


People who receive MHM services must transition from a qualified institution where they have resided for 60 days or more to a qualified community residence. They must also be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA) prior to discharge and maintain eligibility. The 60-day requirement may be fulfilled through sequential stays in multiple qualifying institutions.

  • Qualified institution

    A qualified institution can be any of the following:
    1. Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Hospitals (CABHH)
    2. Community Behavioral Health Hospitals (CBHH)
    3. Hospitals
    4. Institution for Mental Diseases (IMD)
    5. 1115 Substance Use Disorder (SUD) System Reform Demonstration services
    6. Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (ICF/DD)
    7. Nursing facilities
    8. Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF) for children and adolescents


MHM covers services approved in the person’s transition care plan. Refer to the Moving Home Minnesota Demonstration and Supplemental Services Table (PDF) for a complete list of MHM services.

The MHM program includes a range of services. These services are allowed and can be delivered to supplement other state plan and waiver services. They include:
1. Pre- and post-discharge case consultation (see the following Example for pre-discharge case consultation)
2. Comprehensive community supports
3. Costs associated with finding housing or employment
4. Membership fees for health clubs or fitness centers
5. Overnight assistance

The following services are available only to people who are not on a waiver:
1. MHM Demonstration case management
2. Respite services for children with mental illness
3. Environmental modifications
4. Durable medical equipment
5. Personal emergency response systems
6. Specialized supplies and equipment
7. Tools, clothing and equipment necessary for employment (less than 65 years of age)
8. Incentive benchmark payment for Supported Employment

People receiving MHM services may also be eligible to receive state plan services, based on medical necessity and the eligibility requirements for the services. These services include, but are not limited to:
1. Home care
2. Skilled nurse visits
3. Home health aide visits
4. Home care nurse
5. Homecare therapies
6. PCA
Adult mental health rehab services:
1. Assertive community treatment (ACT)
2. Adult rehabilitative mental health services (ARMHS)
3. Adult crisis response services
Children’s mental health rehab services:
1. Day treatment
2. Individual, family and group psychotherapy
3. Residential treatment
4. Children’s therapeutic services and supports (CTSS)
5. Crisis response services


Here is our process from the first client assessment

1 Person
2 Plan Of
3 Client
4 Monitoring and




People receiving MHM services must live in a qualified community residence. These include:
1. A home owned or leased by the individual or the individual's family member
2. An apartment with an individual lease and living areas over which the individual or individual's family has control
3. An assisted-living residence that provides an apartment with separate living, sleeping, bathing and cooking areas, lockable entrance and exit doors
4. A home in a residential setting in which no more than four unrelated individuals live



We use the cultural values, strengths, languages and practices of individuals and families to support and promote their wellness goals.